Blueberry Cookies with Lemon Frosting

Goodbye winter, hello spring! While I love winter, the thoughts of warmer temperatures and flowers overrode my love for winter. On one hand, we get the warm weather. On the other, we get rain. Today, it’s been raining non stop, making it the most perfect day to stay dry and bake some delicious cookies!

With spring in our midst, I knew it was the perfect opportunity to create cookies with some of my warm weather favorites. These cookies are light, lemony sweet, and filled with succulent blueberries- a perfect way to escape the rainy weather! This recipe definitely goes on my top five list for sure. I baked these up with my twin sister. Surprisingly, it was a ton of fun. I highly suggest baking these, or any cookie, with a friend or family member!

Makes: About 30 cookies Bake Time: 12 minutes

What You’ll Need

1 cup of unsalted butter, softened at room temp

1 cup of white sugar

2 large eggs

1/2 cup of milk

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract 

2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour

1 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of baking soda

2/3 of a cup of blueberries (fresh or frozen)

For the frosting

1 lemon (juiced)

6 ounces of cream cheese

5 tablespoons of  butter

3 1/2 cups of powdered sugar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven t0 350°F and line pan with parchment paper.
  2. Cream together butter and sugar at a medium speed.
  3. Add in the eggs, milk, and vanilla at a low speed.

    20160331_205351
    Personal Photo.
  4. Slowly add in your dry mixture (flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt.)

    20160331_205529
    Personal Photo.
  5. Fold in the bluberries. (It’s okay if some of the blueberries get smushed, it’ll just add color!)20160331_205736

    Personal Photo.

  6. Lick the spatula!
  7. Using your trusty 1-inch scoop, place the cookies onto the tray.
  8. Bake at  350°F for 12 minutes. (Look to see if the edges are light brown!)
  9. Cream together butter, cream cheese, powdered sugar, and lemon juice.

    20160331_211443
    Personal Photo.
  10. Enjoy!

I hope you enjoyed making this recipe as much as I did! 

-C:)

 

 

3 thoughts on “Blueberry Cookies with Lemon Frosting

  1. Yum! These look to die for! Personally, I love anything with blueberries so these are going to be a new favorite for me! How long have you been making these yummy treats? Are they one of your favorites? Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe I will be sure to try it soon.

    Like

  2. Holy cow! Lemon anything is my weakness, so I think I’m going to have to make these soon! I think these would be so great to make for a summer get together because they are so fast and sound pretty simple to make! Have you tried making these cookies with any other fruit besides blueberries? i think they might be really good with strawberry puree!!

    Like

  3. This looks so good! I love lemon and blueberries together so much. I really want to make this recipe soon. I think it would be a wonderful snack for the summer. I have never made blueberry cookies before but you made these look so good. How did you find this recipe? I have never seen anyone make blueberry cookies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

