Soft Baked Chocolate Chip Cookies

Personal Photo
personal photo

Hey guys! This recipe is for all you soft cookie lovers out there. When it comes to myself, I absolutely love soft cookies and I am so happy that I finally created some without intentionally underbaking them. What can I say, I’m obsessed. This recipe creates a soft, gooey, and decadent center will a perfectly chewy outer rim that just melts in your mouth. My mouth is watering just by thinking of them! My family loves these sweet and delicious cookies and I know that yours will too!

Bake Time: 10-12 minutes Makes: 36 decadent cookies

What You’ll Need

2 1/2 cups of flour

1 teaspoon of baking soda

3/4 of a cup of firmly packed brown sugar

1/4 of a cup of granulated sugar

1 cup of butter or margarine (Softened at room temperature.)

1 4 ounce pack of instant vanilla pudding (This is what makes the cookies super soft!)

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract (Imitation or pure.)

2 large pasturized eggs

2 cups of chocolate chips (More or less, it’s all up to you!) 

Optional: You can use any flavor of pudding that you want and whatever flavor of chips that you want. They can be milk chocolate, dark chocolate or white chocolate, get creative with your flavors! 

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and cover your pan in a sheet of parchment paper.
  2. Add the flour and the baking soda together in a bowl and whisk them together.
  3. In a large bowl (preferably glass) add the brown sugar, granulated sugar, butter, pudding mix, and vanilla extract and begin to cream them together on a medium speed. (Preferably using an electric hand or bowl mixer) (The mixture will be a tad more dry than usual.)

    WIN_20151108_141058
    (Personal Photo)
  4. Add in both of the eggs and combine fully.
  5. Slowly add in the flour and baking soda mixture. (Be careful with how high your mixer speed is or else the dry ingredients will fly everywhere!)
  6. Fold in the chocolate chips using a rubber spatula. (Optional: Substitute the chocolate chips with white chocolate, milk chocolate, dark chocolate, or chocolate candies!)

    personal photo
    (Personal Photo)
  7. Eat the cookie dough. (Of course this step is optional, if I could make it mandatory I would because who can resist cookie dough?!)
  8. Using your trusty 1-inch ice cream scoop, scoop the cookies onto the pan evenly.

    WIN_20151108_142850
    (Personal Photo)
  9. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes.
  10. After they are out of the oven, let them sit for a few minutes use a spatula to place them on a cooling rack. (If you don’t have a cooling rack you can just leave them on the pan until they are cooled enough to put on a plate.)

    WIN_20151108_174925
    (Personal Photo)
  11. Place inside a cookie jar, container, or put them on a plate and enjoy!

 WIN_20151108_175244

This is how I like to present my cookies, but this presentation doesn’t last very long because of grabby hands!                                                                                                                          (Personal Photo)

Come back in two weeks for my everything nice and pumpkin spice cookies! 

C

16 thoughts on “Soft Baked Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. These look amazing! I absolutely love chocolate chip cookies, so I will definitely have to try this recipe out! Can you taste the vanilla pudding you put in the cookies? Iv’e never heard of pudding in cookies, but I guess it works! Do you make pies? I would love to see some recipes of pies if you make them! Overall, can’t wait to see more posts!

    Like

    • Hey abdaily! Thanks for your feedback! Generally, vanilla is kind of a hidden flavor when there’s chocolate or anything else added. If the pudding was chocolate or banana you would definitely taste it! I was actually thinking about making an addition page on this website that has random and fun desserts that I’ve always wanted to try. I made pie once but it was in the 7th grade, I think I’ll try it out! Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi! These cookies look absolutely amazing!! Chocolate chip cookies are my favorite so I can’t wait to try out your recipe. I agree with you on eating the dough, it’s the best! I know your not supposed to because of raw eggs, but that’s never stopped me before. What is your favorite cookie to eat or bake? Can’t wait for more recipes!

    Like

    • Hey Jasmine! It’s never stopped me before either, a little bit of cookie dough has never hurt anyone! My favorite cookies to eat are either peanut butter cookie or snickerdoodles. When it comes to my favorite cookie to bake is anything that you can get creative with and doesn’t have a set thing you have to follow, that’s why I love giving options! Thanks for the feedback!

      Like

  3. Hi! Wow these cookies look to die for! Reading the ingredients I have never heard of anyone putting in vanilla pudding in cookies! I think I will have to try that. I normally have a hard time getting my cookies to be the perfect softness. Do you have any good tips for that? I can’t wait to see more of your yummy treats you make!
    -Rachel

    Like

    • Hey Rachel! When getting the perfect soft cookie, my suggestion is to make sure the edges of the cookie are light brown when you take them out of the oven and when they cool they should be really soft! See you again soon!

      Like

  4. Hey! I love soft chocolate chip cookies, but I feel like when I make them, I’ll pull them out early, and then when they’re cooling, they become hard! I’ve tried the store bought chewy chocolate chip cookies, but they’re almost too chewy. Just not good at all, so I’m really looking forward to trying these! They look so good and delicious! I also want to say that I love your whole blog theme, but are your top three favorite cookies?

    Like

    • Hey Jordan! The soft cookies you buy at the star uses cake flour which makes it rise more and makes it almost like a cake but still a cookie. I used to have that issue with cookies, it really just depends on what is inside of it! Using more brown sugar than white makes the cookie much more soft! My top three favorite cookies are peanut butter, snickerdoodles, and lemon blueberry sugar cookies. Thank you so much for your feedback, I hope to see you soon!

      Like

  5. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this blog!!! This is the cutest idea and really enjoyed reading it! Without a shred of doubt I know I will be trying this recipe. I 100% love your blog theme and just the overall cookie theme is so cute. I can’t wait to try this recipe, and I really like how you added pictures to the steps, so you know what it is supposed to look like. I would love it if you would do a snickerdoodle recipe or a cookie to fit the festive fall season. How did you get the idea for this blog? How long does one blog post take you, like with cookies and pictures and all?

    Like

    • Hey Olivia! That’s so kind of you! I am definitely going start doing holiday cookies, next sunday I’m making decorated cinnamon sugar cookie. They are kind of like snickerdoodles! I’m totally open for other holiday cookie suggestions! I got the idea for this blog because I love baking, especially cookies :P. So I thought that since I’m already baking cookies a couple times a month that I should make it a blog. I really enjoy sharing my recipes with other people! Generally, I make the cookies as I normally do but take pictures of different steps as I go. Then after they are done baking I start drafting my blog post. So the post itself probably takes around 30-60 minutes. Thank for your feedback! 🙂

      Like

  6. These cookies sound amazing! I’m no cooking mama but with your instructions I think I could even make these cookies right. Uhhhh isn’t salmonella a thing? Cookie dough looks like it would be yummy to eat but I’m scared I’m going to get sick and die. I love the way your blog looks and the comment section looks particularly nice. Have fun eating these cookies!

    Like

    • Hey Daniel! I’m glad you think you can follow the recipe! Yes, salmonella is a thing but generally in pasteurized it isn’t as risky. Plus, there are very few eggs and a lot of other ingredients so it isn’t much of a risk. You definitely won’t die! Thanks for the compliment, and I most certainly will!

      Like

  7. Wow Chelsea, these cookies look amazing! Never seen chocolate chip with pudding before. I’ve only used pudding outside of pudding in an ice cream cake, to add creaminess. I was wondering if these cookies were strictly soft or if they had a little chewiness to them too?
    -Hannah

    Like

    • Hey Hannah! Thanks a lot for your comment. These cookies actually have a slight chew to them so they aren’t entirely soft. Also, who knew pudding could be so versatile? Haha, thanks again for your comment!

      Like

  8. This blog is so great! These cookies look amazing! I love your recipes and also love to make cookies too! How long have you been interested in making cookies?

    Like

    • Hey Jalah! Thank you so so much, that’s really kind of you :)! I have always loved to bake since I was little, I mean, what kid didn’t love to make sweets? Haha, but my interest really peaked a couple years ago. They were a convenient, easy to travel with, dessert that you could really spruce up and make your own. I have always thought that they have been a great to kind of add your own twists to them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

